So, Did I Survive Christmas?

I survived Christmas by geekifying it.
I survived Christmas by geekifying it.

Sort of. I had no real blood sugar problems because there was just so much food to eat all day, and when on my fourth beer I thought I probably should stop there. No one wants to get blind drunk at family Christmas lunch. At least, not again. I made sure to turn down all offers of champagne too.

The plan to hang out with the kids backfired though because my nine year old nephew felt that was a bit weird and so told me they were having a private kids meeting. I just waved my hand at him. Sure, go run off, whatever. I’ll just stay in my seat, alone, beer in hand. Enjoy playing with those new Disney Infinity 2.0 figures I gave you.

Then I just went to talk with his mother, my sister-in-law and actually did agree with many things she said and found we had much in common – our opinions at least. Then much later because he was always hanging around his mum, got to play a bit with my three year old nephew. He’s the type of kid who likes to have a lot of interaction with people. Every adults arms were covered in star stamps because he kept offering to stamp us. There were a few stamped feet as well. He did ask me to take my shoes off but I told him my toes were sick. In reality I have been trying to let the toe nails grow back naturally for years. Growing horizontal is the natural way, not the diagonal talon-like structure I’ve been getting. Anyway, enough about that.

It was nice to see my nieces again and have a bit of a chat with them. For some reason on the weeks leading up to Christmas I got very anti-Santa because I’m an adult and thought adults talking about Santa as if he was real and when not around children was a bit…lame. But then I saw the signs my nieces painted for Santa. ‘Santa – tree this way’ and ‘Santa – cookies and milk.’ That last one choked me up. It really makes Christmas seem more magical and special for children.

suchchristmas14_01 suchchristmas14_02

Then my youngest niece Amy, bless her, said this about the Santa Claus in the shopping centre: ‘he must be the real one because Olivia (eldest niece) asked him for a pool toy and that’s what she got, and she didn’t write him a letter neither so he must have been the real one.’

There was a point in the day where unknown people to me came around (unannounced change) and one person kept asking me if I was ok because I didn’t say much to him. Later when all the kids were in bed and I relaxed by playing my brother’s guitar he kept asking me the same thing, said something along the lines of being comfortable on my own and then finally when I did speak he said it was hard to understand what I said.

This is what I wanted to avoid. I was having a comfortable Christmas day being my laid back introverted self who shrugged when she realised she wasn’t saying much but two things really struck me. 1) That my nine year old nephew is already making a social hierarchy where it’s unnatural to have an adult hang around with children. And no. 2) being confronted by my lack of talking. Usually I wear an ‘I have autism’ wristband that I can just flash at people so they get why I’m saying so little.

But it didn’t ruin my day. I almost missed out altogether on Christmas lunch when my sister suddenly decided to not go because my brother-in-law wasn’t invited. But I got a lift and got to take many many presents to my brother’s house and put them under the tree and had a lovely day, despite a few obstacles.

I was probably the most anxious to open my presents. My nephew Cooper starting showing signs of impatience around 5pm and was circling around the tree. Then both Owen and Cooper started to scoop up presents with their name on them, and just said ‘we’re not opening them, we’re just holding them.’ And then they just started walking around with them under an arm. Cooper then began to neatly stack each present on top of the other. Quite efficient organisation skills for a 5 year old, I must say.

I got a few presents myself. You would think the most expensive present would be my favourite (Xbox One chat headset) but really it was the 365 Drawings A Day Calendar that my sister-in-law, nephew’s mum got for me. Lately, I have been struggling so much to get back into art and had a completely blank mind when I tried to start drawing something that this gift was a godsend. My gifts were a mixture of Christmas and birthday gifts because my birthday is two days after Christmas, and this year my family surprised me with a birthday cake.

The birthday kids. Me and Darcy who turns 4 Dec 29.
The birthday kids. Me and Darcy who turns 4 Dec 29.

So, Christmas day was great but there’s always room for improvement. I think I might spend more time away from the older kids, let them become more independent, until they need to be watched at a park or something. I like spending this time with Darcy so early in his life so we will really know each other by the time he is as old as his brothers. And I’ll keep ignoring people who point out my social inconsistencies because I am different and like being different and that should be encouraged not corrected.

So, how was your Christmas Lyra?

"Better for the fact that you weren't there."
“Better for the fact that you weren’t there.”

Harsh kitty.

Leave a Reply

